January is Move Over Month in Florida! The Move Over Law requires motorists to move or yield right-of-way to emergency vehicles, sanitation vehicles, and utility vehicles. This observance is made possible by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) and its division of the Florida Highway Patrol (FHP), and with the help of the Florida Department of Transportation, the Florida Police Chiefs Association, the Florida Sheriffs Association, and the American Automobile Association.
The Move Over Law originated in 1994, when a paramedic was struck and injured while responding to a roadside emergency situation. Since then, all 50 states have adopted some version of the Move Over Law in an effort to protect emergency responders. The Move Over Law was added to Florida Statutes section 316.126 in 2002.
In 2020, there were 159 crashes and more than 12,000 citations issued for motorists failing to move over in Florida. Giving ample space to law enforcement and other first responders operating on the roadways isn’t only the law, it could save a life.
Take this quiz to test your knowledge of Florida’s Move Over Law.
If you can't move over, you must slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.
The Move Over Law in Florida applies to all emergency vehicles displaying either visual or auditory signals (like flashing lights or sirens) or in the act of providing emergency assistance. This includes tow trucks, first responder vehicles, and police.
You must slow down to 5 mph when the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less.
Always keep your eyes and ears open while passing stationary emergency vehicles. The public is encouraged to report aggressive drivers and those not abiding by the Move Over Law by dialing *FHP (*347).
The minimum fine is $120.
These penalties may increase if the driver has already received multiple points on their record or has violated the same law in the past.
Drivers can receive tickets for any of these infractions, regardless of any damage caused by their actions or lack thereof. If any of these actions cause harm to fellow drivers or emergency vehicles or personnel, the penalty will be much worse.
Pedestrians must also abide by the Move Over Law by yielding to emergency vehicles until they have passed.